Monday, October 27, 2014

Art + Flea / Monsters Invade Tokyo / Secret Record Store

I will be at Art + Flea this Thursday (10/30) selling T-shirts for Big Pineapple. Stop by and say "hi" if you're around.

I will also be DJing at the event, inside at the Secret Record Store booth. Drop by and peruse all of the great records that they have, from esoteric funk, rare grooves, hip-hop, jazz, and indie. Tons of finds at fair prices.

OK Go - I Won't Let You Down

I Won't Let You Down
directed by Kazuaki Seki and Damian Kulash, Jr.

Video debut of the second single, "I Won't Let You Down" by OK Go (Los Angeles, CA), from their latest album, Hungry Ghosts. The video is directed by the band's lead vocalist/guitarist, Damian Kulash, Jr. and director, Kazuaki Seki, who has directed videos for numerous Japanese acts, including Sakanaction and Perfume (who make a cameo at the beginning of this video).

レーザービーム (Laser Beam)
directed by Kazuaki Seki

サカナクション (Sakanaction)
アルクアルンド (Aruku Around)
FYI: Those are the lyrics to the song as they're being sung. This video was filmed at Osanbashi Pier in Yokohama, Kanagawa prefecture, Japan.

サカナクション (Sakanaction)
ミュージック (Music)

Saturday, October 25, 2014

Copeland - Ixora pre-order

After a six year hiatus, Copeland (Lakeland, Florida) will be releasing their new album, Ixora on Nov.24th, 2014, with pre-order bundles available via their site. All pre-orders come with a digital download of the album a week prior to the official release date.

first single:


second single:

Amarante (Los Angeles, CA) cover of Copeland's Good Morning Fire Eater

Saturday, October 18, 2014

The Happy Oblivion

subbing on The Happy Oblivion Show - Sat., noon - 3pm on KTUH, 90.3 FM, Honolulu

Super Furry Animals Juxtaposed With U
Twin Forks Cross My Mind
Moon Boots feat. Violetness Running
Great Good Fine OK By My Side
From Indian Lakes Breathe, Desperately
High Highs Ocean to City
Depeche Mode Freelove
Björk All Is Full of Love [video version]
TOKiMONSTA feat. MNDR Go With It
Deastro Friends
Armor For Sleep The Truth About Heaven
Finch Back To Oblivion
Failure Stuck On You
Denali The Instinct
East Hundred Slow Burning Crimes
LIZ Say U Would
Lemâitre Strobes Pt.2
Kaki King Yellowcake
Jaga Jazzist One-Armed Bandit
Jhameel Feisty [Blue Satellite remix]
HIGH4 & 김예림(Lim Kim) 해요 말고 해 (Haeyo Malgo Hae)
Cosmonaut Grechko Anytime
Suffix Lose Control
Chelsea Lankes Ghost [Mikel Rø remix]
School of Seven Bells Half Asleep [alternate version]
Department of Eagles Sailing By Night
Grizzly Bear Two Weeks
Mad Clown & Yozoh Chocolate Cherry Night
Tranzmitors Bigger Houses, Broken Homes

NYC UFOs Any Other Time
Right on Dynamite Mantra For The Madness
The Meligrove Band Ghosts At My Back
Team Me Kick & Curse
Barb Alcoholic Darling
Lawrence Arabia Apple Pie Bed
Light FM Death Toll Rise
Fonda Loving You Makes Me Sad
Fair and Kind When We're Good
Santo & Johnny Sleep Walk
American Football Never Meant
Travis Turn
The Electric Soft Parade Appropriate Ending
Coach Bombay Cool Thing
Linus' Blanket Summer Magic

Saturday, October 11, 2014

The Happy Oblivion

subbing on The Happy Oblivion Show - Sat., noon - 3pm on KTUH, 90.3 FM, Honolulu

Super Furry Animals Juxtaposed With U
Late Cambrian Golden Time
Kid Astray Taking You With Me [Alizzz remix]
TOKiMONSTA Dusty Stars
Flying Lotus feat. Kendrick Lamar Never Catch Me
Blondfire Walking With Giants
Yelle Complètement fou
Clazziquai Android
Jhameel Take Me Now
Alvvays Party Police
Sylvie Lewis Death By Beauty
androp Radio
Team Me Riding My Bicycle (from Feddersensgate 5A to Mõllervegen 31)
Dan Croll Sweet Disarray
Linus' Blanket Summer Night Magic
Self Runaway
Röyksopp Happy Up Here
tofubeats chngeyrhrt
Porter Robinson Flicker
POP ETC Live It Up
Erlend Øye Bad Guy Now
Coach Bombay Cool Thing
Bean Let's Go
Mad Clown & Yozoh Chocolate Cherry Night
Tahiti 80 Aftermath
OOHYO Girl Sense (소녀감성100퍼센트)
Generationals Black Lemon
LIZ Stop Me Cold [813 remix]
Cosmonaut Grechko Singin' [Blue Satellite remix]
Saves The Day Say You'll Never Leave
The Hives A Get Together To Tear It Apart
999 Nasty Nasty
FIDLAR Wait For The Man
Reigning Sound Never Coming Home
Neko Case Look For Me (I'll Be Around)
Vanilla Writing On The Wall
백예린(Baek Yerin of 15&) 가끔 gakkeum "sometimes"
Jensen Sportag One Lane Lovers
Bear In Heaven The Reflection Of You
Riff Randells M.O.
The Mr. T Experience With My Looks And Your Brains
Hepcat Dollar Dance
Ocean 11 Solid As A Rock
The Deltones Stay Where You Are
Link Wray and the Raymen Vendetta
Mickey Baker Autumn Leaves
Mayer Hawthorne A Strange Arrangement
Masha Qrella Bluebottle

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Tycho - See (Official Performance Cut)

Director, Bradley G. Munkowitz used an infrared emitter from a Microsoft Kinetic, creating a highly innovate and visually stunning new music video for the song, "See" by Tycho (San Francisco, CA) off of their latest album, Awake, released Mar.18th, 2014. De Zeen Magazine has a great article that details the whole process.

Tycho See
directed by Bradley G Munkowitz


1. Awake
2. Montana
3. L
4. Dye
5. See
6. Apogee
7. Spectre
8. Plains

Monday, October 6, 2014

Bean - Rollercoaster

I have huge soft-spot for pop music, and no matter how deep I dig into the sounds of the underground, pop will always be king. Aficionados of all things independent and esoteric may vehemently disagree with me on this point. While I agree with them that anybody can write a pop song, with its bare bones verse-chorus-bridge formula; I feel that it takes exceptional songwriters to craft great ones. Noelle Bean (Los Angeles, CA) shows such promise.

Simply known as Bean, this Nashville, TN-born, Dallas, TX-raised singer/songwriter has a knack for caramelizing sweet melodies, clever lyrics, and groovy four-chord progressions into 3-minute addictive pop confections. My personal favorite from her Rollercoaster EP (released Jun.17th, 2014) is "Let's Go," whose verse and chorus share the same two chords (B, D#m) with only a short two-chord (C#m, C#dim) pre-chorus thrown in on occasion.

Bean Let's Go
lyric video


1. Let's Go
2. Rollercoaster
3. Wherever You Are
4. Cops and Robbers
5. Like To Love You
6. Rollercoaster (Jump Smokers Remix)

Bean Rollercoaster
directed by Devan Dehaven

Bean Cops and Robbers
directed by Michael Marco

Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Flying Lotus - You're Dead

You're Dead is the latest album by electronic artist Steven Ellison (Los Angeles, CA) a.k.a. Flying Lotus. As a whole, the album plays through like an episodic soundtrack, spiraling jazz motifs and haunting soundscapes from baroque thrillers (the song, Turtle incorporates a sample of Piume Di Cristallo, composed by Ennio Morricone for Dario Argento's film, "The Bird with the Crystal Plumage").

Flying Lotus
You're Dead

1. Theme
2. Tesla (feat. Herbie Hancock)
3. Cold Dead
4. Fkn Dead
5. Never Catch Me (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
6. Dead Man's Tetris (feat. Snoop Dogg and Captain Murphy)
7. Turkey Dog Coma
8. Stirring
9. Coronus, the Terminator
10. Siren Song (feat. Angel Deradoorian)
11. Turtles
12. Ready Err Not
13. Eyes Above
14. Moment of Hesitation (feat. Herbie Hancock)
15. Descent Into Madness (feat. Thundercat)
16. The Boys Who Died in Their Sleep (feat. Captain Murphy)
17. Obligatory Cadence
18. Your Potential / The Beyond (feat. Niki Randa)
19. The Protest

Full album streaming vis his website starts tomorrow (Oct.3rd, 2014). It will be available to purchase starting Oct.7th, 2014.

Here is a video teaser with snippets of each song accompanied by images by manga artist, Shintaro Kago.

First single, Never Catch Me featuring Kendrick Lamar
Flying Lotus Never Catch Me (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
directed by Hiro Murai

See photos from his 2011 performance in Hawaii, here.