Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Flying Lotus - You're Dead

You're Dead is the latest album by electronic artist Steven Ellison (Los Angeles, CA) a.k.a. Flying Lotus. As a whole, the album plays through like an episodic soundtrack, spiraling jazz motifs and haunting soundscapes from baroque thrillers (the song, Turtle incorporates a sample of Piume Di Cristallo, composed by Ennio Morricone for Dario Argento's film, "The Bird with the Crystal Plumage").

Flying Lotus
You're Dead

1. Theme
2. Tesla (feat. Herbie Hancock)
3. Cold Dead
4. Fkn Dead
5. Never Catch Me (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
6. Dead Man's Tetris (feat. Snoop Dogg and Captain Murphy)
7. Turkey Dog Coma
8. Stirring
9. Coronus, the Terminator
10. Siren Song (feat. Angel Deradoorian)
11. Turtles
12. Ready Err Not
13. Eyes Above
14. Moment of Hesitation (feat. Herbie Hancock)
15. Descent Into Madness (feat. Thundercat)
16. The Boys Who Died in Their Sleep (feat. Captain Murphy)
17. Obligatory Cadence
18. Your Potential / The Beyond (feat. Niki Randa)
19. The Protest

Full album streaming vis his website starts tomorrow (Oct.3rd, 2014). It will be available to purchase starting Oct.7th, 2014.

Here is a video teaser with snippets of each song accompanied by images by manga artist, Shintaro Kago.

First single, Never Catch Me featuring Kendrick Lamar
Flying Lotus Never Catch Me (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
directed by Hiro Murai

See photos from his 2011 performance in Hawaii, here.

No comments:

Post a Comment